My July budget is already shot, but it’s okay.. I’m on a 90 day no buy!

Soo it’s not okay that my budget is already over, but I have finally reached the point where I seriously need a detox.

Shopping bans have become quite popular since last year when Cait from Blonde on a Budget started her year long one, which she recently completed and (spoiler) decided to continue for another year. Then Bridget from Money after Graduation recently started a 90 day one. The timing seemed right for me to start since the past couple months have been absolutely insane for spending frivolously.

Of course I decided this after I blew some money at Artizia…..

Better late than never, right?

I started on July 9th and am on day 12! Woot.

img_0887  

Rules:

– no make up- NOTHING, I have SO much already that I probably will never run out. I wish I was joking…

– no hair products.

– no clothes- I just re-found a mountain- not a pile- of clothes from when I moved in my basemetn that I never unpacked. so I’m GOOD in that department too.

– no shoes- I have enough.

– no nothing- NO MORE STUFF! Gifts for others are okay, or anything I deem slightly necessary (read: kiddie pool) otherwise no other stuff.

I may need to redo the rules after the first month to be more specific, depending on how the first month goes.

Additionally, I have also started to declutter and purge. I have SO much stuff! And I finally can’t take it anymore. I have gotten rid of 3 bags of clothes so far; make up is next.

I have come to realize I have SO much unnecessary stuff just cluttering up my life that I just can’t stand it anymore.

It’s time I really focus on simplifying my life and giving everything in it a purpose and meaning.

Do you have any tips for me? Have you ever done a no spend?

-R.

4 thoughts on “My July budget is already shot, but it’s okay.. I’m on a 90 day no buy!

  1. I haven’t had the guts to try a spending ban yet but Cait’s has really inspired me! This year all the clutter has been driving me nuts too and I’ve gotten rid of SO much! It just feels better! Good luck with your spending ban! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, thank you! I’ll need it. Decluttering has really showed me how much stuff I have and it’s making me want to stop buying more things!

      Like

  2. It sounds like you’re just shopping for something to do. Maybe you need another hobby like hiking or cycling. Something you can do when you get bored. You could also go to museums, have friends over to play card or games, or join a poetry club,

    It also sounds like you really need to start budgeting and using envelopes. Put whatever you really need in an envelope each month for clothes, food, etc…, and then when that envelope is empty, no more spending for the month.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I will definitely try the envelope system next month! I’ve been putting it off for a long time, but I think it’s time has come.

      Like

Leave a Reply

