A Year of Empties- 2016

In an attempt to declutter and become more of a conscious consumer, I started saving all my empties in the last half of last year. This has made me more aware of how much I was using and how fast- I don’t feel that I wasted anything, but it did act as a reminder to STOP buying products and finish up what I had.

I want to share what I’ve used up and review the products.

Batiste Dry Shampoo

This is one of my fave dry shampoo. I like the original better than the brown hair version but overall good.

Laura Mercier Concealer

For such a small container, this lasted a long time. It’s a nice thick consistency and blends really well.

Urban Decay Makeup Setting Spray

I must’ve gone through a couple of these in the past year. I like setting my makeup with this when I’m going out or for special occasions. I find that it makes a difference.

Sebastian Potion Styling Treatment

I had this for quite a long time, I like that it was smoothing and a treatment at the same time.

First Aid Ultra Repair Cream

I received this in one of my Ipsy bags. I didn’t love the smell but the formula itself was actually hydrating.

Maybelline FIT me Foundation Stick

As a drug store option for foundation sticks this one is pretty good. I found it a bit sheer, but overall a good foundation for day to day use and the colour matching was pretty good.

NARS Audacious Mascara

This mascara was pretty good, I found it dried out rather quickly in the tube though.

Kat Von D Tattoo Eyeliner

This is my favourite eyeliner ! I love it and I keep rebuying it.

Smashbox Brow Tech Eyebrow Pencil

I got this as part of the Sephora Favourites Brow Set, but this wasn’t my favourite product in the box. I found it greasy and that it wiped away pretty quick.

GlamGlow Supermud Mask

I love this mask! It’s a great mud mask. It comes with a hefty price tag, but it lasted quite a long time.

Neutrogena Hydro Boost Cream

I really liked this face cream. It was light and smelled nice, I just found that it didn’t last very long.

Laneige Foam Cleanser

I received this in an Influenster voxbox. It was really luxurious and smelled amazing.

I thought it was cool to track everything that I used in a year and will be doing the same thing throughout out 2017. I find it keeps me focused to use up what I have instead of always buying more stuff.

Leave a Reply

